When: Wednesday 25 March 2020, 7:30 pm AEDT (you’ll be able to ‘check in’ from 7:25pm). There will be a short meeting at the start of the evening.
Where: Online webinar using ‘Zoom’ (relocated due to COVID-19). If you haven’t used Zoom before use this link to test your setup. This is our first few live runs with this new system. Please be patient with us if we have teething troubles. You will need to get a ticket using the link below.

Tickets: Click HERE to get a ticket for the webinar. We have a capacity of 500 people. We have incurred some additional costs in hosting the webinars, but aren’t looking for the webinars to be a profit-making exercise. You will see a large number of free tickets available and a smaller number of paid tickets should you wish to help us to meet the webinar costs. We recognise that this is a pressing time for many financially (including Renew). If you are able and would like to support the work of Renew generally you can do so here: renew.org.au/donate

Presentation: This evening will outline Australia’s energy resources and capabilities in the international context. It will examine current energy trends, focusing particularly on the electricity sector and on our future electricity generation mix. The imperatives for our eventual transition to a sustainable energy future in order to address climate change will be examined, and the implications for our future export industries will be discussed.

Speaker: Professor Ken Baldwin

Professor Ken Baldwin is the inaugural Director of the Australian National University Energy Change Institute, and Director of the ANU ECI Grand Challenge: Zero-Carbon Energy for the Asia-Pacific.

He has held the following appointments:

  • Project Steering Committee for the Australian Energy Technology Assessment, Bureau of Resources and Energy Economics (2011-2013)
  • Board of the South East Region of Renewable Energy Excellence (SERREE, from 2014)
  • Socio-Economic Modelling Advisory Committee of the South Australian Nuclear Fuel Cycle Royal Commission (2015-2017)
  • Chair, Energy Cluster of the Australia-Indonesia Centre (2015-2018
  • Chair, Energy Research Institutes Council for Australia (ERICA, 2018-2019)
  • Steering Committee for the CSIRO Hydrogen Research, Development and Demonstration Report (2019).

Professor Baldwin is an inaugural ANU Public Policy Fellow, and winner of the 2004 Australian Government Eureka Prize for Promoting Understanding of Science, for his role in initiating and championing “Science meets Parliament”.

In 2007, he was awarded the W.H. Beattie Steele Medal, the highest honour of the Australian Optical Society. In 2010 he was awarded the Barry Inglis Medal by the National Measurement Institute for excellence in precision measurement.

You can view the video of Professor Baldwin’s presentation on our Youtube channel here.


Andrew, Secretary, Renew Canberra Branch

Renew Canberra branch webpage